Could I Face Jail Time For Reckless Driving In Richmond?

Reckless driving is a serious charge in the state of Virginia and all across the country. Not only does it put you at risk but it puts everyone else on the road at risk as well. Law enforcement and the court system in Virginia takes reckless driving very seriously. If you get charged with reckless driving, you need to know exactly what this means, some possible defenses to the charge, and what the potential sentence could be.

Reckless Driving Defined

Speeding in excess of 20 miles over the posted limit, in excess of 80 miles per hour, or driving too fast for the road conditions could all result in a reckless driving infraction. Other moving violations could include passing on a curve, weaving in/out of traffic, failure to stop for an emergency vehicle, passing a stopped school bus, and more.

Potential Sentence

Reckless driving is considered a class 1 misdemeanor and is a serious criminal charge. Even a first offense could result in up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500. In addition, Virginia operates on a “points” system and a charge of reckless driving could result of 6 demerit points against your record. Depending on the circumstances, there could be additional charges as well such as driving with a suspended license, use of a handheld device while driving, eluding a police officer, and more. These additional charges could result in a felony charge which could have a negative impact on the rest of your life.

Possible Defenses

Possible defenses against a charge of reckless driving can include proving that the ticketed speed is not accurate. Another defense would be proving who the actual driver was, mistaken identity, or identity theft. Location can be a defense, as the Virginia Code specifies “highways”. There are many different potential defenses against a charge of reckless driving. A good defense attorney can look at the details of your case and choose the best possible defense for your individual situation.


If you get charged with reckless driving in the Richmond area, the first thing you should do is contact a experienced reckless defense attorney in Richmond, Virginia. An attorney experienced in traffic laws might be able to get the charges reduced, get a lighter sentence, or even get the charges dismissed altogether. Never try to represent yourself against reckless driving charges.